The Fight Against the Norm

Sunrise--edit

Have you ever broken a New Year’s resolution? Ha! Seriously, I just heard the many laughs coming from all of you reading this. Of course, we all have at least once, right? Well in those moments, you just want to give up. For example, when dieting in the past, it’s been real easy to slink back into my old ways of eating if I have cheated a few too many times or days in a row. Like how hard it is to go back to no ice cream or biscuits after you’ve been on a vacation where you were freely eating anything you wanted. It’s easy to give up and say well I’ve ruined it now. It’s easy to quit.

To quit is easily defined as stop what you are doing. Today we live in a society that’s ok with quitting. Quit your marriage, it’s fine, you’ll find a new one. Quit your family, they’ll be ok without you. Quit your job, no one worries about work ethic anymore. Quit church, you don’t like anyone there. Quit God, what has He ever done for you? Hmm….do you have a lump in your stomach too.

Here’s the official definition. Quit, (verb): leave, usually PERMANENTLY.

Permanently. That is a strong word. But I’m determined that it’s a word we can change. One person at a time we can defeat the definition. Fight against the “norm” or “usual.” Our quitting does not have to be permanent. When we quickly veer from the things we felt so strongly about changing, there is still hope in pressing on! There is still hope in starting over!

Every morning can bring newness. Each day will begin again. The Bible tells us this…

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning;   great is your faithfulness” Lamentations 3:22-23

How comforting these words are to my spirit. How sweet they sound to my defeated heart. God’s love, mercy, grace, and forgiveness is true, never ending, and made new again.

I will rise over my circumstances. I will take charge over my day. I will conquer my fear of failure. I will NOT quit. I will grab today by the horns. I will keep pressing on toward the mark because I know that each day is a new day. Each moment is a new start. God has not quit on me. I can’t quit on Him or anything He sets on my heart to accomplish!

Let’s pray together.

Father, thank You for never quitting me. Thank You for the assurance of Your Word in You will never leave or forsake me. Lord, you see our human hearts. You know our lazy ways. It’s so easy for us to just quit. Give us a spirit that is unbreakable. Give us the fight of a warrior. Bless us with a can-do attitude and a heart that never gives up. God, we will give You all the honor and glory and along the way we will use all our abilities and gifts You’ve given to serve and worship You. Amen

 

Through Him,

Mary Helen Daniels


MaryHelen1

Mary Helen Daniels lives in South Mississippi where she and her husband, Josh love on three beautiful kids, Hannah, Noah, and Sarah. Josh is the pastor of Shiloh Baptist Church, and most of their time is spent ministering with their church family to the surrounding community. She is a stay-at-home mama, and home-schools all three kids from ages 9 to 4. Her lifelong dream is to be a published author. She follows God’s plan to grow her writing skills and reach other women by running a small blog, A Mama’s Workload. Her greatest passion for writing is letting the world of Christian women know they are not alone; somewhere out there stands a wife, a mom, and a woman in the same shoes and a God who loves them dearly.  

Leave a Reply

