My Journey of Motherhood, and What I’ve Learned so Far

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with enemies in the gate.” Psalm 127:3-5

I remember the day I joined the mama club almost 10 years ago. I had toxemia so bad and my blood pressure was through the roof when I was 8 1/2 months pregnant, so the doctor decided to induce me. Katelyn Renee’ Hutchinson came into the world a whopping 4 pounds 11 ounces. I didn’t get to hold her until she was 2 days old. I remember how fearful I was to meet her for the first time. I remember crying and telling my mom and sister that I hope she liked me. When I got to hold her for the very first time, I thought I was going to break her, but then I notice how the nurses bathed and burped her rather roughly and she didn’t shatter. Ha! That first step into mommy hood was scary, but now I kinda have the hang of it. 306618_492390307444434_117392409_n My daughter was not an easy baby, but since toddler years she has been a very well behaved child. So when the boys came along and grew into toddlers they really knocked me off my feet. Whew!! I remember seeing other moms with sons who were hard to handle and thinking they just needed discipline. Well guess what? I discipline my boys consistently and they still act up, sometimes embarrassingly bad. I sure do wish I could take some thoughts back I had about those poor mamas. IMG_3005 God is teaching me lessons through my children that have grown me and changed me. Patience is something that whether I ask for it or not is being taught to me. I’m not great with being patient, but I’m learning the more patience I have with them the better the day goes. Another lesson I’m learning is sacrifice. I sacrifice a lot of me time to stay at home with my kids and home school. Some days I don’t feel like being sacrificial, but this is what God has called me to do. My kids are so worth it!! I’ve also learned kids love BIG!! They can love on me and thank me and it feels me with so much joy. I’m learning to cherish the moments and don’t blink! I can’t believe my oldest will be 10 in June, and my youngest will be 3 in July. Honestly every year seems to go by faster. Our life on this earth is most definitely a vapor; the Bible don’t lie and I can testify! Another lesson I’m still learning every kid is different, but I love them all the same. Our oldest can be shy and hard to get her feeling out. Her strengths are her bossy attitude, aka leadership skills, her love for soccer, and her love for animals. Her weakness’s would be her laziness, and talking back when she doesn’t get her way. 10649908_10204539254068877_8297154261702681299_n Our middle child, Isaiah, can also be shy when he first meets someone and has several OCD tendencies. His strengths are being helpful with chores and wanting to help cook. His weakness’s would be whining and his anger when things don’t go his way. IMG_4017 Our youngest child, Zack, never meets a stranger and will not stop talking ever. His strengths are he loves with all of his being and gives the best hugs, kisses, and calls everyone his best friend. His weakness’s would be not sharing well and destroying everything in sight. IMG_3028 (1) So that’s my kids in a nutshell. All different and unique and all created by God for a purpose. It’s my responsibility to help mold them into what God wants them to be. It’s a hard job, but I’m so incredibly thankful that God chose me to be their mama.     IMG_3012

2 thoughts on “My Journey of Motherhood, and What I’ve Learned so Far

Leave a Reply

