Being thankful or confessing thanks, which is it?

fall-leaves-haleyparks-edit1

Thankful- of, relating to, or expressing thanks

 

I say that I’m thankful, but how often do I really express thanks? That would be a good question to ponder….

 

Is giving thanks to the Father always on my mind?

When the washing machine breaks, do I give thanks?

When a child comes down with sickness, do I give thanks?

Do I thank Him in the good times too, or do I forget who the blessings come from?


 

These are questions the Holy Spirit has been nudging me with. They aren’t easy questions and ones I would rather not answer at times, but they are necessary.

We always have a reason to confess His goodness and faithfulness. Being thankful simply isn’t enough. We have to confess that thanks to Him and to others. It’s hard to truly be thankful and not proclaim it. Being thankful should lead us to verbally giving thanks to our Father, Yahweh. His goodness, kindness, and faithfulness is everlasting. It’s new every single day. If that’s not enough to be thankful for, well, I don’t know what is. He doesn’t have to do another single thing for us because He’s done so much already.

So this Thanksgiving, as we gather with family and friends to thank Him for our blessings, let’s remember to do it the other 364 days of the year too. As we think of the Pilgrims who endured hardships as they settled in America, we have much to give thanks for. Though our nation is at a crisis and crossroads, we can still thank Yahweh because His mercy does endure for ever.


 

O give thanks unto the Lord, for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

Psalm 107:1

 

Leave a Reply

