Joy In the Struggle

pear-blossom-edit.jpg

Events in life can drain the joy right out of our lives if we let it. I know, for me, it’s been a challenging few years. Different circumstances occurred (not all were bad) and slowly the joy was hard to find. Day after day I trudged along, just trying to survive life. God sent a lifesaver this past Fall and I felt my joy slowly coming back.

If you’ve never been there, it’s tough and not something you want to really talk about. Through a simple (not really, it’s profound) study and a friend, the Father really did some work on me and is still working, might I add.

We have to see our life through His lens, not our own.

Once I begin looking at situations or events from His view, my whole attitude changed. My whole thought process changed, which in turn, changed my words. I realized complaining wasn’t doing me any good and thinking back I really have nothing to complain about. I have a good life, a blessed life. As Ann says in the study, “While I may not always feel joy, God asks me to give thanks in all things, because He knows that the feeling of joy begins in the action of thanksgiving.” I finally understood that I wasn’t being punished and that the Father was in control. Our joy comes from trusting all that the Father does is good.

We must realize that joy doesn’t do away with all others emotions, but joy should win out over all other emotions. Be encouraged if you have seemed to lost your joy, ask the Father to adjust your view of the situation, of life. He will and you will once again have joy.

Father, thank You for being the strength of our joy. Our joy can not come from anywhere else, but You. Help us to see our life, from daily to yearly, from Your view. We want to see all the good You are doing in our lives. We also want to see the “bad” may not be bad at all, but ways we can grow and trust You more. Shift our focus from our circumstances to You. We want to focus on Your will and purpose, not our preference. We praise You for being the joy of our salvation. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Restore the joy of Your salvation to me,
and give me a willing spirit.

Psalm 51:12

Leave a Reply

