Resisting His Blessings

woman-mountain-valley-edit

 

I tend to like the easy way (as if there’s such a thing) through life. I want the good stuff to just fall in my lap. I don’t want to have to go through hardships to reach my prize. I don’t mind a process, but would rather it not be a hard one. That’s not realistic and it doesn’t build character, but I’m just being honest.

After we moved for the first time as a family, it took me awhile to adjust. I was letting the minor things blind me from the blessings. Sort of like that song by Laura’s Story, Blessings. Sometimes blessings aren’t as easy to see, especially in the midst of the chaos. For me, I couldn’t see the blessings that were right in front of me and I was resisting the process. I was refusing to see the blessings that the Father had given us.

After seven years in an apartment, we finally had a beautiful yard for our boys to run and play in.

We were finally back closer to our families and friends so we could do life together.

We had a desire of our heart, a home, to call our own that we could raise our boys in.

I wasn’t focusing on those things and the many other blessings though. I was loosing precious time taking in the beauty around us and really embracing this blessing. Why do we do that? Why do we resist what the Father wants to give us? For me and maybe you too, it’s because the path is  laced with the unknowns and hardships. We don’t want to have to weed through the trials to get to the blessings. We don’t want to endure the hard for a moment that will lead to what the Father has in store for us.

It’s in our nature to resist the hard, even when the thing we are going towards is good for us.

What are you refusing from the Father that could be your biggest blessing? Search your heart and seek the Father out. Don’t let the blessings escape because you may have to sweat a little bit, embrace the hard and the blessing.

Father, thank You for the journey. Thank You for the hard that is laced with blessings. You never leave us empty handed. You always give us something to be thankful for no matter what season we are in or what trial comes our way. Help us to see the blessings in disguise that are in our lives. Open our eyes to see things that only You see. We want to be thankful and we want to have all You have for us. Help us to endure the trials and enjoy the blessings in the midst. We praise You for all things. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


 

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

John 10:10

2 thoughts on “Resisting His Blessings

Leave a Reply

