Bone of My Bones, Flesh of My Flesh

pexels-photo-325884

Being married to my best friend has taught me a lot through the years, but nothing so obvious as this: I love him so much that the thought of him not being in my life causes me physical pain. My chest tightens, it’s hard to breathe, and tears start to form if I even think about the possibility of being without him. We are the two that became one, the one whom my soul loves, and we were made by God’s loving hand to need that intimate, never-let-you-go feeling. In the beginning, God took a rib from Adam and from that rib created Eve, and Adam said, “This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called woman, because she was taken out of man.”(Genesis 2:23) 

Have you ever considered the role ribs play in human anatomy? They are for protection, support, and respiration; for the structure and formation of the human body. They are not just important for this reason, but provide insight on a deeper, spiritual level as well. As a wife, I lean on my husband for protection and support (by doing so, I find strength, not weakness…) and just as I said earlier, my very breath depends on him being there with me. Without him, I couldn’t function properly and there would be no life left in me. God had a higher, more divine purpose for using dust and bones to create us. We are to be each others strength and support in times of trouble and give each other the love that makes life easier.

So when stressful situations or tragic circumstances happen that make you question your faith, cling to what is good…to God and your mate. Use each other’s strength to make it through those tough times, keeping your relationship rooted in God’s word and you will find your comfort, because…

“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.”-I Corinthians 13:7-8


 

Brandi blogs at And She Laughs in her spare time in the midst of being a wife, mother, teacher, chef, and homemaker. You can find her there sharing encouraging words and uplifting posts.

Leave a Reply

