A Sigh of Relief

picmonkey_image(3)

 

Sometimes, in life I’ve felt like I just couldn’t breathe. I felt smothered from trials or circumstances and I needed a breath of fresh air. Life can be hard and unforgiving some days. Dishes pile up, the laundry never ends, and coffee just doesn’t do the trick. I want a break from whatever is troubling me at the time. I just want to be comfortable. I want an easy life, but just when I think I can sigh a breath of relief, I’m being stretched again.

I know this scenario plays out a lot in the minds of others too. Things just seem hard. Life can be so harsh and the Father can be cruel we think. I know I have thought this before. I whine and wonder why can’t I just catch a break every once in awhile? I don’t understand why can’t the Father let things be smooth and life be a breeze. I’m beginning to get a glimpse in my own life why He can’t do that. He doesn’t want me to be comfortable. That sounds so mean doesn’t it? He never wants me stagnant in my relationship with Him or in life.

Instead the Father wants me continually growing.

It was the uncomfortable ones who really saw miracles happen before their eyes if we think about it. Paul, Peter, Matthew, Luke, and the rest of the disciples were put through some rough stuff while they were here on earth. They also saw some awesome acts of Jesus and even performed some miracles by the power of the Holy Spirit. God doesn’t want us comfortable, He wants us holy. He wants us growing more to His likeness.

I love comfortable. I love to have it easy and I know I’m not alone.

Yet, I know by reading the scriptures that…

the comfortable ones never saw miracles.

the comfortable ones never performed miracles.

If I’ll allow the Father to stretch me and mold me, I can see some awesome things take place in my life and the lives of others. God wants to draw me out of my comfort zone to reach others with His life-giving Word. The thought that He chooses us to help Him accomplish His will is amazing! He doesn’t want to make us uncomfortable for the sake of doing it. He wants us to learn to be content with what we have, but not so comfortable that we don’t grow in our relationship with Him. He’s such a gracious God. I’m so glad that He loves me enough to make me uncomfortable because He knows it’s good for me.

When you feel like you just can’t breathe and you need a break from life, retreat and spend some time in prayer. Pray to God and let Him know how you feel. Ask Him what is it that He desires from you. He has so much in store for His children, if we will abide in Him. Take a big sigh, because the God of heaven is on your side.

Lord, thank You for caring for me more than I know. Thank You for not leaving me as I am, but continually changing me. Help me to see things from Your perspective and know You have good plans for me. Being comfortable is not as important as growing more like You. May I seek to be a vessel of honor for You and for Your will to be accomplished in my life. You’re the lover of my soul and desire my willingness. May I be willing to be uncomfortable for Your sake. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


 

Worship the Lord in the splendor of His holiness; tremble before Him, all the earth.

Psalm 96:9

Leave a Reply

