Love Is Not a Feeling

picmonkey_image(20)

 

I’ve come to realize (through the Holy Spirit) that I let feelings dictate me a lot, more than I thought. If I’m not feeling it, I certainly don’t pretend. There are some days that I just don’t want to get out of the bed for prayer and study time. Yet, I wipe the sleepy out of my eyes and I get up. I crack open His Word because it’s the only thing that doesn’t change. I may not always be feeling it, but I am learning that sometimes I have to just do it. I have to keep pressing and pushing on no matter what I feel.

It’s not about if I feel redeemed or if I feel like praying, it’s about what is best for me.

Why do we let feelings dictate us? If things are going great and we feel awesome, then we act awesome. If things aren’t going great and we feel discouraged, we often act depressed. We hear a lot in the secular world that if you’re not feeling it, don’t fake it. On the other hand we also hear in the realm of Christianity that sometimes we have to set feelings aside and act as if we are feeling it. It’s a war within our souls and we must fight it. We should pray desperately for His Spirit to invade us and for His will to be done in our life. We should ask that He will help me keep His instructions and ways at the forefront of our mind.

Love is not a feeling, it’s loyalty. Our Savior may not have felt like leaving the riches of heaven. He may not have felt like enduring the beating, mockery, and scorning, but he didn’t let ‘not feeling it’ stop him. He did what he did because of loyalty and commitment. He was committed to pleasing His Father and making a way for redemption. We have to be committed to the loyalty we vowed to our Father, our husbands, and our children. That feeling will not always be there, but we have to remember to press on.

Keep loving,

keep praying,

and keep guiding.

If we go on feelings our whole lives, we will waver and not stand strong. If we’re rooted in His love and His Word, we can stand in the toughest of times. He never changes. We can be confident in His love for us and in the stability which He brings in our lives. Let it be what pushes you through the motions and into being loyal.

Father, we thank You for loyalty. You sent Your Son because You are loyal. Thank You for not changing your mind when it hurt so bad. Thank You Jesus that you didn’t go on a feeling. You were loyal to us and bled on that cross. May we be loyal in our relationships. Help us to stay committed no matter what. Help us to push feelings aside and do what we know is right. There will be times in life where we may not feel anything good, but that’s okay. We trust that You are guiding us and we want to push through. We want to stay committed to those in our lives as You do us. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


 

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

II Corinthians 12:9

Leave a Reply

