Growing Pains

Here is my sweet friend, Brandi, again sharing some encouragement!

 

alley-1836919_1920 (1)

As a little girl, I would sometimes wake up in the middle of the night, holding my legs and crying and writhing in pain, with what my parents always called “growing pains”; which now as a five foot nothing woman who can’t reach the top shelf at the grocery store, I somewhat question that whole concept…But now as a mom to three growing boys, they often wake up just like I did, complaining of their legs aching and I do my best to be there for them and ease their pain. And as they grow older and taller and more mature, I find myself having some ‘growing pains’ of my own.

Before I had kids, there was no way to understand how much of your heart goes into being a mother, or parent in general. You give your love, your time, your sleep, and sometimes your sanity to make sure you are giving your children everything they need. Everything you do is to prepare them for the next stage of life. Lately, I have been giving my oldest son more jobs around the house, more responsibility so he can learn problem solving skills and be more independent, which will help him in the future. No one ever told me how hard it would be to let him make his own sandwich, not because it would have been easier and less messy if I did it myself :), but because its another step in the growing up process where they start needing you less and less.

It’s a bittersweet thing, to see one of them smile this huge smile, with pride on their faces, as they do something all on their own. It’s a good thing. But every moment like that is one day closer to when all my little chicks get their wings, leaving this mama hen with an empty nest. And though I’m not ready for the changes ahead, I will use every opportunity to instill in them the morals and character they should have to be godly men, strong in their faith, who I pray will one day become husbands and fathers willing to stand for truth. Because I’m not just raising little boys, I’m trying to raise good men. So to all the mamas out there, it’s okay to let go, slowly and gently, because though it’s hard(very hard), its necessary to equip your children to be the exceptional, strong, independent people God has created them to be.

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.”-Proverbs 22:6


 

Brandi blogs at And She Laughs in her spare time in the midst of being a wife, mother, teacher, chef, and homemaker. You can find her there sharing encouraging words and uplifting posts.

Leave a comment