Much To Be Thankful For

fall-trees-edit

I try to write down things I’m thankful for throughout the year. My lists have changed over the couple years I’ve been doing it. I’ve grown and learned even the “bad” things are worth thanking the Father for in the end. Sometimes what we’re thankful for may surprise us.

Sometimes the Father opens our eyes to see the truth in a situation.

It can stump us.

It may anger us.

It can even sadden us.

We may have a choice to make or an adjustment to make with what He’s shown us. Making that choice may lead to our thankfulness. The truth may not always come with a joyful response at first. We may not want to be thankful to begin with either. It could be painful, but if we open our hearts up to Him and the truth He has shown us, we will become thankful.

So as I look back and reflect over my life, I can say that I’m thankful for the Father opening my eyes up to many different truths at different times. It was painful and it wasn’t what I wanted to learn, but I see that it’s best and it’s what I needed to know. I’m also thankful for another year to gather with family and friends to love, laugh, and feast. I have lived a very blessed life. I complain way more than I should.

I have way more than I deserve and it’s not so much material things I have to be thankful for, but…

for a husband who works and goes beyond to make sure we have all we need,

for boys who are healthy, happy, and love us more than we know,

for family who loves us and supports us, who stands by us and prays for us,

for friends who walk on this journey with us, cheering us on and loving us,

for a God who does not throw this broken vessel away, but continues to mold it into His beauty.

We all have something to be thankful for. So as we gather, I pray we will remember where all good things come from, our heavenly Father, and will give Him praise.

Father, You are so good. Words really cannot give you the credit You’re due. Thank You for Your mercy towards us. Help us to allow You to create a thankful spirit in us. Our circumstances may not be worthy of thanks in our minds, but help our minds yield to Your Spirit so we can thank You no matter what. Open our eyes to all You have for us and all the blessings we have obtained. Help our hearts and minds to become thankful no matter what is going on around us. We desire to please You and a grateful heart does just that. We praise Your awesome name and give You thanks! In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Shout triumphantly to the Lord, all the earth.
 Serve the Lord with gladness;
come before Him with joyful songs.
 Acknowledge that Yahweh is God.
He made us, and we are His —
His people, the sheep of His pasture.
 Enter His gates with thanksgiving
and His courts with praise.
Give thanks to Him and praise His name.
 For Yahweh is good, and His love is eternal;
His faithfulness endures through all generations.

Psalm 100

Leave a comment